About Competition Squash

Teams from the Queanbeyan Leagues Squash Club play in the Spring (commences in August) and Autumn (commences in February) Senior Pennant Competitions administered by the ACT Squash Racquet Association (ACTSRA) .  This is a graded competition played Tuesday – Thursday evenings at various venues across Canberra.  Each season runs for about 14 weeks, plus 2 or 3 weeks of finals.  Teams consist of 4 players, and there are 13 divisions in the competition.

The cost to play pennant squash is the weekly court hire, $10 at most venues, and the registration fee – Queanbeyan being the most affordable club in the region at $160 per season.  Every second week, a “home” team is also obliged to provide supper for the night – adding a social element to the evening.

The club is always keen to sign-up new players, if you’re interested in participating in competition squash please use the form on the contact page here.

Seniors Club Practice

When: Sunday, 3:00-5:00

Where: Q One Indoor Sports Centre (South Side), University of Canberra (North Side). Address details are in the footer below.

Cost: $5 (as of Spring 2019)

Club History

Squash in Queanbeyan has a long and proud history dating back to the 1960’s and 1970’s – unearthing international talents such as Heather McKay and Kellie Cuschieri.

Squash in Queanbeyan was reborn in 1979 when the Leagues Club courts and the High Street (‘Heather McKay’) courts were opened.  The High Street Courts were turned into a gym only facility at the beginning of the 1990s, and the Queanbeyan Club from High Street (led by Heather Aubrey and Lorraine Fitzgerald) merged with the Queanbeyan Leagues Club Squash Club (led by Phil Gallagher).  Unfortunately after nearly 30 years, the Leagues Club courts were closed in 2007 when the upkeep of the building became too expensive.

In 2018, new squash courts were constructed in the Q One Indoor Sports Centre on Yass Road. This meant the club could have a second presence and operate out of both Queanbeyan and North Canberra at the University of Canberra in Bruce.